Obsessing

Hello, people. I’ve been waiting to post until I learn how to post with pictures, but since that hasn’t happened, I’m deciding to forge on. I have to share my current obsession. It’s the song that plays toward the end of The Painted Veil. Even though I speak Spanish, and have learned Italian and French, I never taught any of my children any foreign language. Maybe a word here or there, but that’s it. Everyone in my extended family always shames me for not teaching my children Spanish. I always thought I would, when I was younger and hadn’t had any kids yet, but then I had them, and it just didn’t flow out of me naturally. I can’t explain it. Maybe because I’m not Mexican, I don’t know. Anyway, now I really wish I had given them that gift. Because I think it’s so much easier to learn foreign language when you already speak one. But back to the movie… I was all ready to rate it “3 stars” on Netflix (a “liked it”), as opposed to 4 or 5 (“really liked it” and “loved it”), until the end. I heard this song (if you haven’t seen the movie, don’t watch! just listen) and thought, “Oh, that’s it. I have to teach the girls French”. I immediately fell in love. It was sad, sweet, beautiful, enchanting. I really wish they had included it in the soundtrack, the version with the Beijing children’s choir. Oh, so sweet. It’s actually a French children’s folksong, and I’ve been singing it for the past 2 days. My son, who’s 16 months old, even started singing along with me. So cute! I play it for him on the computer, and he sings “aaah”, in his falsetto baby voice, and sways from side to side. Is there anything sweeter or cuter?! Egads.

So I think I’ll give it 4 stars. Not just because of the song, but because Naomi Watts’ character redeems herself in the end. And I “really liked” that.

Leave a Reply

