Come on, everybody – do the Cabbage Patch with me!

‘Cause the kitchen’s FINALLY done! It all started in November with a cracked pipe, and it’s been inconvenience after inconvenience. You really don’t realize what you have until it’s gone… we went without a kitchen sink for 2 1/2 days this week, and although it was manageable, not that bad honestly, it made me realize we take so much for granted. I kept catching myself about to throw something in the sink, or turning around to use the faucet, forgetting there was nothing there. That was pretty funny. Our countertops were taken out sometime in early December, and I didn’t want the plywood to get wet, or for us to have sawdust in our food, so I covered the wood with garbage bags, then paper bags from the grocery store. Note to self: wipe down the counters more often! Boy, you can really see all the crap that gets on your counters when there are paper bags in their place. So, the granite was finally installed yesterday (holy chemical stink, Batman!), and the sink was put in this morning. Too bad the guy didn’t put the food disposal together perfectly, though… I had washed dishes for about an hour before bothering to check under the sink. Lo and behold, there was a nice lake waiting for me. Dammit. Now I gotta call them again. No more sink, again.

Just to warn any of you out there who are thinking of remodeling, or having any sort of construction done, don’t have the kids around. I had to stay here, because you’re not supposed to leave workers alone, am I right? But for heaven’s sake, keep the kids away if at all possible. You don’t really think about things like this, but the amount of toxic chemicals, the fumes, the various dusts that are released into your house, it’s all really scary. I took the kids outside and kept them as far away as possible, out in the courtyard, whenever there was serious stuff going on, but we still have to come back inside at some point, you know? And you know all that crap is still in your house. It is mighty tedious work cleaning all that fine sawdust and granite dust off of every fricking thing in your house. Particularly when you have clutter everywhere. When am I going to conquer my clutter???? I don’t know. I’ll get back to you on that. In summary, stay as far away as possible when there are chemicals being used, or sawing going on. Cover your stuff, or better yet, empty the room if possible. Better even still, try to use eco-friendly or non-toxic products. Don’t know if that’s possible, but it’s sure worth a try. For everyone’s sake.

Before:
plywood-counter.jpg

After:
granite.jpg
Ok, I know it’s not the same shot, but I can’t get a decent picture this late. The brown spots are more of a warm brown than a tan brown, as they appear (to me) to be here. It’s called “English Brown”, and I think it looks a lot like our old granite. We like it.

Leave a Reply

