Birthday at the San Diego Zoo

Big sister turned 9 today! Holy cow. I was going through my business card container yesterday, and found our zoo passes, so I asked if she wanted to go for her birthday. Both girls screamed “Yeahh!!”. That was funny.

Here’s brother looking at the flamingoes:
brother-flamingoes.jpg

Enjoying her favorite thing in the whole world:
lollipop.jpg

flamingo-standing.jpg

light-pink-spreading-wings.jpg

dk-pink-spreading-wings.jpg

My favorite flamingo shot:
flam-backside.jpg

Giraffe topiary:
giraffe-topiary.jpg

I was so shocked when I saw him eating both at the same time!
Well, why not?
brother-ice-cream.jpg

The birthday girl:
big-sis-ice-cream.jpg

I kept waiting to get a decent heart shape:
flam-heart.jpg

One of my favorite things about the zoo – the peacocks are almost always up in the 2 giant trees at the entrance, and it’s so cool to hear them call out:
peacock-in-tree.jpg

flam-preening.jpg

preening2.jpg

wing-closeup.jpg

flam-face.jpg

peacock.jpg

peacock-closeup.jpg

A paw, lovingly placed on its napping mate:
lions.jpg

camellia.jpg

zoo-flower.jpg

This looks like an Oriental willow to me, if there is such a thing:
willow.jpg

These pics really don’t do it justice!
willow2.jpg

cherryblossom.jpg

I’d never seen these, or heard of them – cabbage trees?
cabbage-tree.jpg

cabbagetree2.jpg

I don’t know what this plant is called, but it’s skinny, and funky, and I like it:
plantmacro.jpg

The skyline, overlooking Balboa Park and downtown, as seen from the skyfari:
skyline.jpg

These white birds were perched waay atop this tree, it was cool:
white-birds.jpg

Leave a Reply

