My Budding Artist

My son started drawing this summer… he’d scribble here & there before then, but he actually, out of nowhere, started drawing. It might’ve been my influence (well, whose else could it be?), but he out of the blue said, “Happy face”, then drew a circle, eyes, nose, and mouth. And he said everything aloud, in that order. I might’ve drawn a happy face for him a few times before then, but nothing consistent. The thing that kills me though, is the expressions on his faces. They are the most expressive toddler “happy faces” I’ve ever seen. Granted, that’s not saying much! But just let me boast! Every face he draws has a distinct look, and it just floored me when he started. It was just too cool.

I’m pretty sure this was his first “face with legs”:

He’s such a cutie patootie.

Leave a Reply

