My beautiful new antique

I love old things! I love silver, too. Hate gold. And I love fairies. So it was love at first sight when I happened upon this:

I think it was earlier this year, maybe in the spring. This particular one wasn’t for sale, but my interest was piqued. I must’ve googled it then, and learned you could find them on eBay. So I searched every once in a while, and even kept some in my “watched items” list, so I could find out how much they went for. Their condition really varied, and I was only interested in the ones with clean, intact mirrors, powder sifter, and original powder puffs. Some had one puff, very few had both. I bid on, and lost, the one I REALLY wanted this summer. It was the best I’d seen so far. I think the maximum I was willing to spend was $40… it went for $45. I was LIVID. So angry with myself. Some time passed, and I’d almost given up.

Then I won this!!! It is so amazing in person, I can’t even describe it. Tiny, yet heavy, and so old (it’s 83 years old!). I freakin’ love it! My original plan was to actually use it, replacing the rouge with one of those new magnetic makeup tins, but I don’t think I can bring myself to use it. It’s too precious.

Djer-Kiss was a brand of toiletries – perfumes, powders, and such, manufactured by Kerkoff of Paris through the 1920’s. The front side of the mirror is normal, and the back side magnifies. But it actually seems like the front side makes you look smaller! It’s weird and cool at the same time. Tee hee! And the back side magnifies ever so slightly… you don’t end up looking scary huge, like you do with other magnifying mirrors! Agh, I can’t express how much I love this thing. SO glad I finally got one.

Now… onto antique pencils! Thanks A LOT, angry chicken. Now I’m on the lookout for something like this:


*Image from ebay.com

Here we go again.

Leave a Reply

