Native American Art

I bought this several years ago, at the Adams Avenue Antique Faire. Which I just found out does not happen anymore. Bummer!

I liked it because the little girl is cute, and it looked vintage, and it looked special. I’ve always had a soft spot for Native American culture, too (is that an odd statement?). Having an artist’s signature is usually a good sign, I thought, but I had no idea who it was or if they were even famous. Its home has always been my daughter’s bedroom.

I did some research on it last night, for the first time ever, and found out that the artist is Gerda Christoffersen, from Denmark. She moved to Canada with her family, then here to the States, and started depicting Native American life. So, apparently, she’s pretty famous, and this could be valuable. I never would have guessed.

It’s titled “Desert Flower”. Isn’t she cute?!

desert-flower1

Closer:
desert-flower2

One thought on “Native American Art

  1. It is very cute and it’s neat that it has a cool history behind it. Bill and I have been thinking lately that we’d like to get some art for our walls.

Leave a Reply

